1. moonlightMoonlight and all the conversations surrounding this film. I’m touched by the autobiographical impulse behind Moonlight; the vulnerability of the writer and the director, Tarell Alvin McCraney and Barry Jenkins, and the complexity of the protagonist, Chiron; and the simple elegance of the film’s three-part structure. Listen to the Fresh Air interview here and read the New York Times profile of McCraney and Jenkins here.



  2. Rebecca Solnit’s Facebook posts on the incoming administration.



  3. Elissa Washuta’s My Body Is A Book of Rules. Form as Content is alive and well and living in the pages of this brilliant book. We just read this book together in my UW Memoir class, and I so appreciate the dozen containers for discourse Washuta uses to embody the book’s central theme described by the author as “my failed attempts at mastery over my own body.” The thing I dig the most: Washuta’s use of Law & Order: SVU scripts. So clever, so poignant.



  4. Astropoets Twitter feed. Just funny and so spot on–could make a believer out of an astrology apostate. (Thanks, Claire Dederer, for turning me onto this distraction!)



  5. My brand new New York Times Sunday paper subscription. There couldn’t be a better time to subscribe to the Times, and the arrival of the paper on my front step Sunday at dawn brings me an absurdly disproportionate experience of living the high life. (Jordan Peele embodies this feeling with inimitable panache here). The cost of the Sunday subscription includes full digital access (which you can share with two friends!).



  6. year-of-yes-9781476777122_hrShonda Rhimes’ Year of Yes. I’ve been rereading passages from this book routinely as if it carries the secret of life, or maybe just the secret of being disarmingly casual on the page.



  7. These questions from Audre Lorde:audre-lorde


5 responses to “What I’m Digging Right Now”

  1. Jeanne Verville Avatar
    Jeanne Verville

    As always, thank you for giving me things learn, to think about and to motivate me.
    So glad Alissa’s book is out. Where have I been? Oh. Yuh. God, I hate not being in Seattle.
    So, Theo – is the background for this post “pussy pink”? The color of the pussy hats we are knitting to wear at the women’s march on Friday??
    You’re the best…
    Jeanne

  2. This page will stay open for a while as I explore. Thank you for sharing it.

  3. This has been sitting in my inbox for a few days and I finally opened it! I love it! Thanks, Theo.

  4. I learned a lot reading through this page. The video was interesting. Looking forward to seeing Moonlight and have 2 new books in my shopping cart. Thanks for all of this wonderful information. It just took a while to get it all checked out. It’s been one of those months. 😦

    1. I know what you mean! It’s hard to get anything done while keeping up with the (hideous) news.

Leave a Reply

Trending